Cucina di Casa – Sean’s review (aka “He Said)

by HeSaid

Until recently, I figured the only place in Nanaimo to get anything close to traditional Italian was Little George’s, so I was excited to discover an Italian eatery so close to home.

Cucina di Casa, previously the Grapevine Trattoria on Wesley street, is a (relatively) new Nanaimo restaurant specializing in Italian cuisine. The name, promisingly, means “home cooking” in Italian and I’m a BIG fan of traditional home cooked Italian cuisine so I was really looking forward to rockin’ a little lunch at il ristorante.

It was lunchtime when we arrived, and the Casa was casa-non-grata save for a single family seated across the room from us. The first thing that stood out for me (aside from the wrinkled tablecloth) were the menus. They offered a nice selection of dishes priced between $10 and $13 with a nice variety of pasta dishes, panini and other Italian classics. I opted for the polpetta (meatball) sandwich with a side of… fries? Not really traditional, but I do like a good fried potato so what the heck.

Food came quickly and didn’t disappoint. The meatballs were well spiced and cooked perfectly. Juicy, fresh tomatoes, onion, garlic and Italian spice adorned my sandwich along with a smattering of savoury red sauce. Not so much as to drown the meatballs, but just enough to add a bit of extra flavour.

Fries were quite tasty, crispy and seasoned to perfection, though I feel they could have used another minute in the fryer.

After thoroughly demolishing my sammich, I found myself desperately wanting for an espresso. Sadly, I managed to pick the day that the machine would explode. It’s like the song says, you can’t always get what you want – but if you try sometimes, you might find, you get what you need.

And that I did. While Cucina di Casa isn’t a traditional Italian diner as much as it’s a restaurant that serves Italian food – the service was adequate, the food was fantastico, and I’ll definitely be going back to try more. You should too, it’s totally buona.

Food or Fail rating: Food

2 Comments to “Cucina di Casa – Sean’s review (aka “He Said)”

  1. It’s nice to meet fellow Nanaimo bloggers and even better still to get local restaurant reviews! This is definitely a restaurant I will try.

    • Hi Lyndsay, thanks for reading! So far, CDC is my only “food”, I’m not sure if we’re just unlucky or what… several times we’ve gone to places that are highly recommended and they’ve just been off the mark.

      I love your blog, BTW, I do much of the cooking at home so I’m always looking for sources for good recipes.

Leave a Reply

